BDA issued notice to 6 IAS Officers

BDA issued notice to 6 IAS Officers

Bhubaneswar: The Bhubaneswar Development Authority (BDA) on Monday issued notices to six IAS officers to personally appear before it in connection with the houses and plots allotted to them under the discretionary quota.

Sources said the notices were issued because the officers did not reply to show-cause notices issued by the BDA stating why action would be not be taken against them for availing a number of plots and houses.

The six IAS officers include Suresh Mohapatra, Pradeep Jena, Rajkumar Sharma, Vishal Dev, Prasant Nayak and Satyabrata Sahu. The BDA asked them to appear before it on the dates specified to them or action would be taken unilaterally.

Meanwhile, Urban and Housing Development Minister Pushpendra Singh Deo said that however mighty or powerful one may be, action would be taken according to the Task Force’s recommendations. Action would be taken after scrutiny under law.

It may be mentioned that after reports of irregularities in the allotment of plots, houses and flats of BDA, CDA and Odisha State Housing Board under the discretionary quota to senior Government officials, politicians and other influential people, there was a furore in the State.

The State Government had appointed a Task Force under former Additional Chief Secretary Taradatt to probe into the illegal allotments. It was found that 54 people had illegally availed more than one plot or house flouting the norms since 1995.



Most Popular

To Top