Assembly election result 2017: BJP get huge majority in UP-Uttarakhand; Congress in Punjab


New Delhi: BJP is set for a thumping victory in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, while Congress is set to make a comeback in Punjab.

UP election results: In UP, the BJP alliance wins 324 seats. While the SP-Congress 55, BSP 19 and others are wins 5 seats out of 403 seats.

UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav submits his resignation to Governor Ram Naik on Friday after defeats.

Elated over the BJP’s performance, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said he was overjoyed that the BJP “has received unprecedented support from all sections of society. Huge support from the youth is gladdening.”

Punjab election results: Congress is set to make a comeback in Punjab. Congress wins 77; Akali Dal alliance 18, AAP wins 22 out of 117 seats.

Punjab Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal won from Jalalabad seat, defeating AAP candidate Bhagwant Mann by 18,500 votes.

After Congress’ victory in Punjab, Prashant Kishor, one of the key poll strategists for party in the state, said AAP was one the toughest competitors his team has faced.

Uttarakhand election results: Like UP, BJP also set for a thumping victory in Uttarakhand. BJP wins 54; Congress 11 and others 2 seats out of 70 seats.

In a major shock for the Congress, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat faced defeat on the two assembly seats – Kichha and Haridwar Rural – from where he was contesting as a party candidate. Harish Rawat hinted at possible tampering of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) to tweak the poll outcome.

Goa election results: Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar submits resignation letter to Governor.

Election Commission data at 4:50 pm: Goa: BJP wins 12; Congress 14; Nationalist Congress Party 1; Maharashtrawadi Gomantak 3; Goa Forward Party 3; Independent 3 out of 40.

Manipur election results: “I want to quit fighting any type of election: Irom Sharmila after losing election”.

Election Commission data at 5: 30: Results for 57 out of 60 – BJP: 20, leading in 1; INC: 24, leading in 1; NPF: 2; LJSP: 1; NPP: 4; TMC: 1; Independent: 1

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.